• Folks, if you've recently upgraded or renewed your annual club membership but it's still not active, please reach out to the BOD or a moderator. The PayPal system has a slight bug which it doesn't allow it to activate the account on it's own.

Algae

I was at the beach and collected some algae, is it safe to put it on my sump?
Can I give it to my tang?
45c31f1961f20b5da985ed103028d355.jpg

Sent from my LGLS751 using Tapatalk

njtiger24 aquariums

Officer Emeritus
Article Contributor
I was temped to do this once but then someone told me that the shore line acts like the skimmer for the ocean. Also with all the junk dumped into our waters I didn't want to risk putting junk into my tank. I heard if you collect stuff a couple miles off shore then you would be safer. I have no first hand experience with this I just didn't want to risk my tank.

I was temped to do this once but then someone told me that the shore line acts like the skimmer for the ocean. Also with all the junk dumped into our waters I didn't want to risk putting junk into my tank. I heard if you collect stuff a couple miles off shore then you would be safer. I have no first hand experience with this I just didn't want to risk my tank.
Ok, being that it is not that much I put it in my sump, gave some to my tang and he loves it.....if it grows I'll give it to him to keep control on it.
Thanks.

Paul B

NJRC Member
Just collect it and throw it in your tank. Your tangs will love you for it. That nonsense about collecting water and stuff far offshore is ridiculous.

art13

Officer Emeritus
Officer Emeritus
The only thing around the beach i would be worried about collecting is the sand, other than that it shouldn't make a difference. I was always curious about picking up some inverts and such around the beach, not sure if they would adjust to a hotter reef tank though.

Paul B

NJRC Member
Thanks Paul. Was going to boil it first so I get any unwelcome things in my tank.