• Folks, if you've recently upgraded or renewed your annual club membership but it's still not active, please reach out to the BOD or a moderator. The PayPal system has a slight bug which it doesn't allow it to activate the account on it's own.

Anyone good with netwroking?

motortrendz

NJRC Member
So I've been trying to set up a new computer router and all that fun stuff. And Im having nothing but problems. I was wondering if there's any guys out there that can set up my home network get everything connected and running optimally. Obviously I'll take care of the cost. I can fix any car problem I've come across in 30 years. But computer stuff I just lose my mind. Lol.

Rueric

NJRC Member
I work in IT, i can probably help walk you through it.
What is your service provider? Comcast, Verizon?
What network router are you trying to use?
Describe the issue you're seeing

MadReefer

Staff member
NJRC Member
I also work in IT but mainly now on QA and Risk side. been a longtime since I touched network stuff. But as already stated what is the problem you're having? I am at exit 89 and might be able to swing by.

motortrendz

NJRC Member
So.i bought a new router and extender. The modem won't recognize it. And on the old router everything works wirelessly, but when I plug in the new desktop with the ethernet it won't connect (it doesn't have wirless) I'm pulling my hair out lol

motortrendz

NJRC Member
I have Comcast. If that makes a difference. The modem is a netgear. Not a rental unit. The router is also netgear. But I bought a tplink 6to get gigabit speeds. I'm trying to set up a dedicated desktop for trading.

myrjon

Officer Emeritus
Officer Emeritus
call comcast with mac address of router first.might need to hard wire with cat 5 . then install wireless . my experience extenders did not work .try to move router to a middle ground center of house.

motortrendz

NJRC Member